Wednesday, October 27, 2010

"Introducing Luke Donahue" OR "Music Is Life"

"Introducing Luke Donahue"
Due to an overexuberant amount of work lately, I have been completely unable to find time to update the blog. There are some posts I have in mind that I will have up as soon as I get a chance, however for this post, I would like to introduce a very good friend of mine, that wanted to give it a go. Where I tend to focus more on movies, he is much more music oriented, and I hope will continue to compliment my blog with future posts like the one you are about to read.

"Music is Life"
The music industry is always changing, whether for the better or the worse. Underground music and Independent artists is the last thing keeping music alive. I listen to a lot of independent hip-hop artists, and their music is just so real and true. I guess you could say is speaks to me. These artists are out to make money, but making money is not the first thing on their mind. The fans. That’s what is most important to these artists. Fans aren’t even the word I would choose; it’s more of a following. For me it is a following. These artists are making music that is true to them, they do not follow mainstream at all, they follow their hearts, and they have succeeded. They are on tours selling out shows EVERY night. The shows may not be at huge arenas, but they are at clubs. This is better I think because you can really interact with the artist and it brings the artist and fans (followers, in a good way) together. Can you imagine looking out into a crowd of people just happy, and rapping or singing every word to your songs? Can you imagine what type of feeling that is? I know from experience when I went to a concert like this I felt a feeling unlike anything I have every felt. I had butterflies, goosebumps, whatever else. It was such an amazing feeling because it was more than music. It was a gathering of people, all shapes, sizes, colors, ALL types of people there for one reason, to hear this artists message and to have a good time. Music is much more than music to me. Music is life. It will never die. Music can bring people together, music is not judgmental, music is not racist, and music is not wrong or right. Music is music, music is life.

Luke d

Monday, October 18, 2010

Let the Rumor Mill Run Rampant, We Got A Green Light

I will be the first to admit that I'm pretty much a nerd when it comes to all things fantasy related in movies, books, and games.  Having said that it should come as no surprise that I am a big "Lord of the Rings" fan. This news as a result, excites me greatly, especially after all the difficulty there has been in the formation of the "The Hobbit" movies.  We finally have a go on making the film(cue round of applause) and we have new casting rumors involving one of my favorite british actors(as I am a huge "Doctor Who" fan), David Tennant.

http://blastr.com/2010/10/the-hobbit-finally-gets-t.php

http://blastr.com/2010/10/david-tennant-and-michael.php

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

"3-Don't!"

We had 8-bit, we had standard def, we had vhs, we had dvd, we had surround sound, we had high-def, we had blu-ray, we have...3-D, too much 3-D in fact. 

In an ever progressing world of technological advances, the coolest new thing when it comes to viewing pleasure is always changing.  For quite a while now we have had your 1080p with blu-ray and surround sound home entertianment, as well as your hdmi compatible gaming systems, and your Imax movies in theaters.  That's all well and good.

Then "Avatar" set a precident for what would be the next big thing in movies and video games(cue dramatic build up drum beats)(add booming echo voice) 3-D...d...d..d..d!

Except, it's not really the greatest advancement, at least in my opinion.  When "Avatar" did it, sure, it was the greatest thing to visually happen to a movie, ever, period. Admit it, you love watchin "Blue Planet" on the hd channel whenever its on because its mesmerizing, right? Stick that on a bigger screen, make it pop out at you, and we all spent more time gazing back and forth in wonderment at floating mountains than we did paying attention to the highly criticized plotline of the movie(which I myself didn't find so bad, but then again I also enjoyed "Transformers 2", sue me). 

This is where the trouble started though.  Becoming the highest grossing movie of all time, other movie producers began to see the 3-D trend as a sure fire way to sell tickets.  Retro fit each release with a 3-D and standard edition in theaters, trick a few chums into paying 6 extra bucks for the same movie, sounds like a plan!  The problem is, unlike "Avatar" which was filmed specifically for the purposes of being released in 3-D, every other film has just seemed like a haphazard attempt to cash in on the same glory.  There is no need for every CGI movie released a la "Toy Story 3" and "How To Train Your Dragon" to be released in the magical extra dimension when it adds absolutely nothing to the movie.  Most attempts at 3-D are actually not even impressive in the slightest, being, in the majority, more a case of depth than actual, coming out at you elements. 

In my opinion, more movies should focus on substance of story, than trying to get a movie that no one is gonna wanna see anyway(cough "My Soul To Take" cough) and get an extra 150 people to see it by adding "3-D effects." I wish more movies would follow suit and actually back out of release in 3-D like the upcoming blockbuster "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1", which will make millions either way, instead of following suit of a certain movie mogul who is using 3-D to milk some more out of his 30 year old space adventure cash cow, but I won't name names.

From The Rambling Mind Of A Closet Geek,
Entertainment Reesearcher, Josh

Monday, October 11, 2010

Movie Review: Nowhere Boy

Yes, I know it technically isn't released yet, but I have my source websites that allow me to watch movies on the internet, sometimes before they come out, as is the case with "Nowhere Boy", the biopic on John Lennon in his teens.

First off, I am a relatively big Beatles fan, I am however, not a John Lennon fan in even the slightest(chalk it up to political differences and my burning hatred of Yoko Ono). With that being said, I still really enjoyed this movie. Lennon's troubled childhood, being raised by his aunt, not knowing a real father other than his uncle, who died while he was still young, and then finally meeting his mother, who ultimately became his source of interest in starting a band that eventually became The Beatles, lends itself perfectly to a dramatic and entertaining hour and a half of mucis history cinema.  You wont find much classic Beatles music in the film, yet the soundtrack is still very pleasing.  Aaron Johnson, of Kick-Ass, fame plays the role splendidly, and is quickly asserting his status as a top-tier actor who has a versatility of roles.

I give "Nowhere Boy"  4 stars out of 5.

From The Rambling Mind Of A Closet Geek,
Entertainment Reesearcher, Josh

Friday, October 8, 2010

I May Very Well Be The Only Person I Know That Enjoyed "Catfish"

For those of you who haven't yet heard about the movie/documentary "Catfish", I will not be telling you anything about the film's plot itself.  I also strongly urge that you do not watch the trailer if you plan on seeing it.  Read the basic description of the movie on IMDB, take it for what it is, and see the movie. I myself loved it and cannot express that strongly enough, my friends however, do not speak so highly of it(I choose to relate this to the fact that they just obviously are not on my same intellectual level to appreciate such a meaningful movie).

I say do not watch the trailer, because it has come to my attention after talking to my friends, and reading reviews online, that the trailer leads you to assume something entirely different about the film than what it actually produces.  I myself did not make the same assumptions after watching the trailer, because I went in knowing it was a documentary, and that the "twist" that the movie promises, would have to be based in reality and be something on a reasonable level. 

Without going into any detail about the film except for what is absolutely neccessary, I thought it was nothing short of phenominal.  Sometimes you see a movie that just sticks with you, that is running through your mind for hours after viewing, that touches not only your mental capacity for the film, but also your emotional capacity as well. That's precisely what "Catfish" did for me.  The study on human needs, relationships, and desires, as well as it's look at the increasing result that social networking has on todays human interaction, is all around compelling.  It touched me in a way that no other movie has in quite a while and left me wanting to delve deeper into the lives of those involved to find out what happens next.

There are skeptics that will say that it cannot possible be a true documentary and that it is in fact staged.  I have researched it and I have yet to find real evidence to this claim. The fact that it is real is what makes it so disturbing and beautiful. Not to mention that one of the most insightful things I have ever heard uttered was said by a gentleman in the movie(see the quote of the day today). In regards to the film,  I read it said best:

"The Social Network is a movie about Facebook that people think is real while Catfish is a real movie about Facebook that people think is fake"

If you have the patience and open mind to take a risk on something completely original and outside the norm, then I give "Catfish" two thumbs up.

Proving My Point On Remakes

While skimming around through my favorite sites today at work, I stumbled upon this little gem that illustrates perfectly, Hollywood's desperate need for originality.  The fact that there is even a list of 50 upcoming remakes speaks volumes for itself that the movie industry is rapidly running out of ideas so has resorted to shoveling regurgitated bullshit to the millions of us who pay good money to see it's works.  There are quite a few of these that in fact, flat out disgust me that anyone would even have the gall to attempt a remake. So for your viewing pleasure I present:

http://www.nextmovie.com/blog/upcoming-movie-remakes/

From The Rambling Mind Of A Closet Geek,
Entertainment Reesearcher, Josh

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and The Remake

As my first official post, I thought it would be appropriate to address my number one pet peeve as of late when it comes to modern hollywood: The Remake(cue dark, sinister, and forboding music).

In an industry where fresh ideas are dwindling as much as legitimate music related material on MTV, and adaptions are the only source for new material, it seems as though Hollywood is more than ever relying on the remake.  Television shows are being remade, classic movies are being remade, movies are being re-released in 3-D(another issue entirely), and foreign films are being remade as, usually, second rate English rehashings. So I ask, is the remake ever really as good as the original?

There is a reason that I tend to prefer the indie movie genre above the tyical blockbuster released every friday, becuase they serve fresh, meaningful, and reflective ideas that haven't yet been raped to the point becoming painfully mundane. Don't get me wrong I enjoy the latest Michael Bay blow 'em up with a J.J. Abrahms twist as the next much as the next droll peon, but that's just because I have such a wide array of interest in movies.  I do not however enjoy a remake of a movie from 10 or 15(sometimes longer) years ago, which the "horror"(read: gore) genre is becoming notorious for. I do not enjoy seeing a movie which I was quite fond of as a child being re-released just so the bloodthirsty creator can try and milk it's teet for a few drops more using modern technology( George Lucas I'm referring to your latest 3-D venture).  And I especially do not appreciate seeing wonderful films, as much works of art in some cases as cinema, from around the world being rewritten, recast, and remade, with English speaking actors in American Hollywood(i.e. Let The Right One In, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo).

It is this last point in which I will address with the most fervor as it has become increasingly annoying to me as of late. Let me start by saying, for those of you who don't know, the recent(and fairly unsuccessful as of yet) release, Let Me In, is a half assed attempt for hollywood to cash in on an international hit, Let The Right One In, based on a novel by the same name, written by the Swedish author, John Ajvide Lindqvist.  If you have never seen the original Swede version of the film, which I'm guessing a fair share of people probably haven't, it is one of the most beautifully disturbing movies I have ever had the pleasure of watching.  The book for those of you who might be interested is even better than the movie.  In a sub-genre of "horror", that has been polluted with sparkly high school studs who make the panties of teen girls melt, this movie provides a refreshingly traditional take on the vampire myth, staying true to the legends, while inserting itself into modern society. Let me add also that I admittingly did read the entire Twilight series, I have seen, and will continue to see each movie once and only once, and I fully admit I enjoyed the books and the movies are shit, judge me as you will, I have heard it all. But back to my point.  Let The Right One In, is of course filmed in Sweden there for is only availabe with English subtitles.   Too many people are turned off by the fact that they might have to read a movie for an hour and a half, because, "Hey, why would I read a book, that's what movies are for." As a result movies such as this are remade as English movies and in my opinion lose a fair share of their impact as a result.  American standards on movies are much more watered down as restrictions become harsher and harsher defining what is "socially acceptable" to be viewed. God forbid little Johnny's mom neglect to tell him that it's a movie and not real life, that just not be as simple as editing all the meaning and depth out of a movie.  Foreign cinema still retains a much higher acceptability of what can and can't be included in a movie, and that's where I think it scores over ours. Gore, Nudity, Profanity, and Content are not splashed in overabundantly for the sake of a few more teenagers going to see a crap movie. On the contrary they are tastefully done in an almost understated way to further along the real depth of a film.  When you take a movie that is, in my opinion, damn near perfectly made, such as Let The Right One In or  The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and ship it overseas to the good old "US of A", it loses everything that it had going for it and becomes the sparknotes version with some tits and blood. 

I argue to instead, expose more people to the original which are in general very well recieved, apart from by those "too good for subtitles" stereotypes.  Watch the movie with substance before stating how much you want to see a movie that you didn't even know was stoled in the first place.  Watch the original of a movie that was filmed 20 years ago, instead of rooting for the same movie filmed with better technology.  Don't endorse a remake, which there are a few, but I stress few, good ones made, before you see the original and can intellegently compare.

From The Rambling Mind Of A Closet Geek,
Entertainment Rees-earcher, Josh